MBA Annual General Meeting: Mr. Mark Watkinson elected as Chairperson


Mr. Grant Parsons
Deputy Chairperson


Mr. Mark Watkinson

Premchand Mungar

Mr. Premchand Mungar
Deputy Chairperson

The Mauritius Bankers Association (MBA) held its Annual General Meeting on Tuesday 20 June 2023.

Mr. Mark Watkinson, CEO of Bank One Limited, was elected as Chairperson of the MBA. Mr. Mark Watkinson takes over from Ms. Bonnie Qiu, CEO of HSBC Mauritius, who completed her two-year tenure. Also elected were Mr. Premchand Mungar, CEO of MauBank Ltd, and Mr. Grant Parsons, CEO of Investec Bank (Mauritius) Limited, who were both re-appointed as Deputy Chairpersons.

Mr Mark Watkinson, Chairperson of the MBA, welcomed his appointment. “I am grateful for the trust placed in me by the banking community. I thank my predecessor, Ms. Bonnie Qiu, for her leadership as our sector emerged from Covid. I very much look forward to working in partnership with the Bank of Mauritius and other stakeholders towards the development of the sector. We look forward to playing our part in growing our financial centre and being a driving source of sustainable financing for the region.” he said.

Mr. Premchand Mungar, Deputy Chairperson of the MBA, thanked the MBA Board for their renewed trust. “I look forward to working with our members, regulators and stakeholders in a spirit of continuity, to ensure the growth of the sector while serving our customers through the current challenges,” he said.

Mr. Grant Michael Parsons, Deputy Chairperson of the MBA, commented that “as an international banking group present in Mauritius for 20 years, Investec is committed to helping develop the Mauritian IFC, and furthering connectivity with the African continent,” he said.
The MBA conveys its sincere appreciation to Ms. Bonnie Qiu for the work accomplished during her mandate.